Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Wellness Committee

The College of Veterinary Medicine Wellness Committee was formed in June 2017 in response to the mental health and wellness crisis affecting students, clinicians and staff in the health professional fields.

The goals of the CVM are: 

  • to promote self-care and wellness among the students, staff and faculty;
  • to develop a curriculum that provides students with the necessary tools to enjoy a healthy, productive veterinary medical career;
  • and to continually re-evaluate our programs in the context of emerging health-related data.

To achieve and maintain these goals the responsibilities of the committee members include, but are not limited to: 

  • Promote wellness initiatives in the college
  • Oversee wellness initiatives in the college
  • Coordinate wellness initiatives between faculty, staff and students
  • Send a representative annually to the AAVMC Health and Wellness Summit or AVMA Wellness meeting.
  • Interact with SAVMA on student wellness issues
  • Coordinate curriculum wellness initiatives with the CEIC
  • Oversee, make recommendations for, the Wellness site on the CVM Intranet

Committee Members

Members of the College Wellness Committee (2019-2020) are listed below. Please feel free to contact any member with concerns, ideas or questions!

Dr. Shane Lyon, Chair (Clinical Sciences)
shane.lyon@okstate.edu

Dr. Susan Fielder, Vice-Chair (Pathobiology)
susan.fielder@okstate.edu

Dr. Laura Nafe, Secretary (Clinical Sciences)
nafe@okstate.edu

Dr. Jill Akkerman (Physiological Sciences)
bjilla@okstate.edu

Lisa Gallery (VMH Staff)
lisa.gallery@okstate.edu

Dr. Margi Gilmour (Associated Dean, ex officio)
margi.gilmour@okstate.edu

Jeremiah Grissett (CVHS Counselor & Wellness Coordinator)
jeremiah.grissett@okstate.edu

Alexis Hawton (Year II Rep)
alexis.hawton@okstate.edu

Stacey Herriage (Graduate Student Rep)
stacey.herriage@okstate.edu

Jennifer Jackson (OADDL Staff)
jennifer.d.jackson@okstate.edu

Julia Jordy (Year IV Rep)
julia.jordy@okstate.edu

Mary Watkins (SAVMA Wellness Committee Chair)
mary.watkins@okstate.edu

Kaylie Wehr (McElroy Staff)
kaylie.wehr@okstate.edu

Dr. Natasha Williams (House Officers)
natasha.jane.williams@okstate.edu

Robin Wilson (Student Services, ex officio)
robin.wilson@okstate.edu

Greg Yoast (Year III Rep)
yoast@okstate.edu

Give to the CVM Wellness Initiative

Support of CVHS wellness has allowed:

  • Development and support of the CVM House System
  • House T-shirts for all incoming students each year
  • Picnic table under the large oak tree next to the paddock

Give to CVM Wellness