Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

OSU College of Veterinary Medicine Faculty Honored

Thursday, May 7, 2020

Pictured (left to right): Drs. Jennifer Rudd, Melanie Boileau, Laura Nafe, Timothy Snider, Veronique Lacombe and Jerry Ritchey.

The Oklahoma State University College of Veterinary Medicine recently recognized several faculty members for excelling in their respective areas.

Veronique Lacombe, DVM, Ph.D., DACVIM, DECEIM, associate professor in the Department of Physiological Sciences, received the Zoetis Research Award in recognition of her outstanding research and productivity, which scientifically advances the profession. Dr. Lacombe leads the Comparative Metabolism Laboratory where her team investigates glucose metabolism during metabolic diseases and novel metabolic therapeutic strategies that could benefit both veterinary and human patients.

Timothy Snider, DVM, Ph.D., DACVP, professor in the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology, received the Zoetis Teaching Award in recognition of his dedication, leadership and contributions to the advancement of the profession. Dr. Snider teaches eight different courses including general pathology, infectious diseases, veterinary study abroad, and veterinary diagnostics rotation to name a few.

Established in 1993, the class teaching awards recognize instructors who exhibit enthusiasm, organizational skills, dedication, interest in student learning, caring, and professionalism. Each year students vote on the outstanding teacher for their respective class. This year’s recipients are:

  • First year class – Jerry Ritchey, DVM, Ph.D., DACVP, professor and head of the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology
  • Second year class – Jennifer Rudd, DVM, Ph.D., DACVM, lecturer in the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology
  • Third year class – Melanie Boileau, DVM, MS, DACVIM, associate professor, food animal medicine and surgery section chief, and the McCasland Clinical Professorship in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences
  • Fourth year class – Laura Nafe, DVM, MS, DACVIM, assistant professor in small animal internal medicine in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences.

“Congratulations to our colleagues for their success in student instruction and research,” said Dr. Carlos Risco, dean of the veterinary college. “We are all very proud of their valuable contributions to advance veterinary medical education and research.”

MEDIA CONTACT: Derinda Blakeney, APR | OSU College of Veterinary Medicine | 405-744-6740 |

blog comments powered by Disqus