Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Faculty and Staff Recognized for Service

Thursday, January 3, 2019

Pictured (left to right): Dr. Carlos Risco, Dean, Gayle Sisney and Dr. Jerry Ritchey, Veterinary Pathobiology Department Head

Congratulations to Gayle Sisney, the 2018 Stratton Staff Award recipient, the award nominees, and faculty and staff who have reached longevity milestones.

Sisney is an administrative assistant in the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology. Established in 1991, the Stratton Staff Award recognizes an Oklahoma State University College of Veterinary Medicine staff member for outstanding service or contributions to the Center.

Created by Dr. Louie Stratton (’55), former and first director of the Center’s Boren Veterinary Medical Hospital, the award honors a deserving staff member for his or her hard work and dedication. Nominees must be full-time employees of the Center for three or more years. 

Meet all the 2018 Stratton Staff Award nominees:

  • Ian Kanda, RVT, VTS (Exotic Companion Animal) is the sole registered veterinary technician and a veterinary technician specialist in exotic companion animal medicine in the Avian, Exotics and Zoo Medicine service at the Veterinary Medical Hospital. He is dependable, knowledgeable and a team player. He often covers as an RVT for other areas in the Hospital. Ian eagerly shares his vast knowledge of exotic animals with the veterinary students. A valuable member of the exotic animal medicine community, Ian has a case report and several book chapters under review for publication.
  • Lucy Kershaw is the administrative associate to the Veterinary Clinical Sciences department head. She is known for her ability to balance many tasks, her willingness to pick up work created by staff openings and her dedication. Lucy assists fourth year veterinary students as well as off-shore students from St. George, St. Matthews, Ross University and foreign veterinary students completing their clinical training at OSU. She meets deadlines, patiently trains new employees and does it all with a smile.
  • Michelle Kuehn is a senior administrative support specialist in the Dean’s office focusing on the graduate program. She is known for being reliable, accurate and consistent. Michelle is extremely knowledgeable about policies and procedures relating to graduate student admission, payroll, degree requirements and more. She coordinates the Veterinary Biomedical Sciences Seminar schedule and the annual 3 Minute Thesis Competition for the CVHS and helps keep students on track to meet important deadlines. She also encourages graduate students to plan social events and helps make these fun for the students.
  • Robin Madden is the laboratory manager at the Oklahoma Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory. She consistently demonstrates a high level of expertise and professionalism working closely with clients to meet or exceed their expectations. Robin was instrumental in initiating contemporary molecular diagnostic testing, which provides clients with rapid, high-quality results. Her team has brought 11 new polymerase chain reaction (PCR) tests online, increased the number of samples tested, the number of tests performed, and the revenue generated by the PCR laboratory.
  • Carey McCully, RVT, VTS (Ophthalmology) is a registered veterinary technician and a veterinary technician specialist in ophthalmology and the veterinary technician supervisor at the Veterinary Medical Hospital. She has a strong skill set, is dedicated to patient care, and has a passion for the field. Respected in the field, Carey currently serves on the Academy of Veterinary Ophthalmic Technicians Board. As a supervisor, Carey is extremely knowledgeable of the policies and procedures and works endlessly to ensure the services’ needs are met while trying to ensure employee happiness and satisfaction.
  • Gayle Sisney is an administrative assistant in the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology. She wears many hats with duties that include department activities, purchasing, fiscal management of budgets, personnel/human resources, and supervision of staff and student workers. With nearly 20 years on the job, Gayle has institutional knowledge that is second to none. She is adept in University policies and procedures and willingly shares her expertise with others. Gayle is known as the ‘glue that holds the department together’ and does it all with a smile and pleasant disposition.
  • Anna Soto, RVT, is a registered veterinary technician in the small animal surgery service at the Veterinary Medical Hospital. She is known for her exceptional work ethic, completing jobs on time and often without being asked. A vital member of the team she is one of the most upbeat employees in the Hospital. Her time management, organizational, and communication skills all help her complete her daily tasks competently. Anna consistently strives for perfection and is always looking for ways to improve.
  • Brenda Wyant is a senior accounting specialist at the Veterinary Medical Hospital. A conscientious worker, she makes sure hospital and university policies are followed to the letter. Brenda enjoys her job and exhibits an exemplary work ethic for others to follow. A natural self-starter, she is open to new ideas and is ready to help anyone. Always trying to improve, Brenda is enrolled in Oklahoma State University’s Advanced Leadership Development Program.

Congratulations to the following Longevity Service Award recipients:

15 years

  • John Gilliam, Clinical Associate Professor, Veterinary Clinical Sciences
  • Lyndi Gilliam, Associate Professor, Veterinary Clinical Sciences
  • Lara Maxwell, Associate Professor, Physiological Sciences
  • Mason Reichard, Professor, Veterinary Pathobiology
  • Grant Rezabek, Clinical Assistant Professor, OADDL
  • Theresa Rizzi, Clinical Professor, Veterinary Pathobiology

20 years

  • Randy Barton, Building Maintenance Mech. II, Office of the Dean
  • Michael Davis, Professor/Oxley Equine Professor, Physiological Sciences
  • Pamela Hazlip, Administrative Support Specialist II, Veterinary Medical Hospital
  • Carey Warner, Administrative Associate, Office of the Dean

25 years

  • Ron Kuehn, Computer Support Specialist, Office of the Dean

35 years

  • Lionel Dawson, Professor, Veterinary Clinical Sciences
  • Judy Gibson, Financial Assistant I, Veterinary Pathobiology
  • Dianne Hudson, Veterinary Anesthesia Specialist, Veterinary Medical Hospital

40 years

  • Sherl Holesko, Administrative Support Specialist II, Office of the Dean
  • Dorothy Scarbrough, Assistant Director of Business Operations, Office of the Dean
blog comments powered by Disqus